09
Mar
10

it’s been a long time…

Hello reader(s), so you may have noticed my silence of late.  I put this down to two reasons, number one nobody is reading this blog and number two I was very busy at work as I had to finish things up before moving jobs!  I’ve swapped lunchtime runs along Aberdeen ‘Pleasure’ beach for re-enacting Chariots of Fife by running along St Andrews beach, although I have yet to head out for a run, but I only started yesterday.

“How’s the training going?” I hear you ask, pretty well I think.  I had my longest run of the training plan on Sunday, 14.15 miles, it took me 2 hours 16 minutes and 33 seconds.  Quite a slow pace overall but after hitting the wall on the previous weeks’ 12 mile run I decided to take it easy.  I managed to run without stopping, which is a good achievement but I’d have another 12 miles to run on the day.  The enormity of this run really is beginning to hit home.  Training is taking a bit of a hit as well, I don’t have showers available to use in the afternoon and a combination of activities and business trips over the next couple of weeks means I may have to rely on my weekend runs to keep me going.  Thankfully this weekend is a paltry 6 mile run, I may get up early on Friday and go for a run after cycling into work.  May.

My shorter runs have been going well, 3 miles at least twice a week, although I have now given up football on Thursday nights so should be able to get out for 3 short runs and one longer one.  As the miles pick up, the trainers get even more wrecked looking, thankfully splashing through puddles is keeping them reasonably clean and fresh smelling!

Until next time, and it could be a while!  Cheerio.

0 Responses to “it’s been a long time…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

This month’s ramblings

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

