26
Jan
10

ITBS….

or Iliotibial band syndrome to give it its proper name is a right pain in the arse knee.  Don’t worry, I didn’t know what it was either until the last few weeks.  It is a very common injury in long distance runners (of which I am now one!) but its also an injury I’ve had for over 3 years now.  Of course, this is a self diagnosis so I may have it completely wrong.  Over to wikipedia for a description:

ITBS is one of the leading causes of lateral knee pain in runners. The iliotibial tract (iliotibial band) is a superficial thickening of tissue on the outside of the thigh, extending from the outside of the pelvis, over the hip and knee, and inserting just below the knee. The band is crucial to stabilizing the knee during running, moving from behind the femur to the front while walking. The continual rubbing of the band over the lateral femoral epicondyle, combined with the repeated flexion and extension of the knee during running may cause the area to become inflamed.

Yeah makes a lot of sense eh?!  The key thing is rest, now this isn’t exactly great when I have a marathon schedule to follow but there’s no point running through the pain or I might miss out on the marathon.  I’m meant to be out for a 3 mile run today but I will instead do nothing.  I’m trying to keep the knee iced as often as possible, and have invested in some voltarol cream, which I have to say seems to ease the pain a fair bit.  Combined with some ibuprofen, the pain has virtually gone today.  There are various stretches I can do on a daily basis to strengthen things up, one legged squats are meant to be good I just have to make sure nobody is watching!

So, total rest until Thursday when I’ll head along to the 5 aside game, if all goes well it’ll be a 3 miler on Friday followed by an easy 6 miles on Sunday.  Wish me luck!

1 Response to “ITBS….”


  1. November 24, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    I have been struggling with the same injury for several months. I am curious if you ever got it resolved.


Leave a Reply

