14
Dec
09

this time it wasn’t laziness

My laptop charger died on Saturday night, may it RIP, I got a replacement part for it though so we’re up and running again.

Anyway, on Sunday morning as I was lying in my bed my wife and kids looked out of the window.  “Oh its white outside” said one, “Jack Frost has been” said another, “Jingle bells, jingle bells chicken all the way” said the last one.  Well at least 2 of them make sense, you guessed right it was a cold and frosty morning yesterday.  Regardless, I wrapped up warm (well as warm as you can wrap up while wearing shorts), hooked myself up to Marvin and went out on the road.  It wasn’t cold, it was freezing!  I took my usual route out towards the farmland and was soon overpowered by an appalling stench.  Marvin hadn’t dropped a sly one, it was the stink of the cauliflower in the fields.  It looks like they’ve taken all the good ones and left the misshapen ones to rot.  I’m glad I wasn’t running with my usual Sunday morning hangover or it could have got very messy.  The usual muddy puddles had been replaced by frozen muddy puddles, had a couple of slips and slides around.  There’s really no give in frozen ground and I feared for my porcelain ankles, but they stood up to the test thankfully.  I’ve never been more glad to get hope and have a warm shower than I was on Sunday, somebody should tell marathon organisers to arrange their marathons for the end of the summer to stop us mugs having to run in conditions like that!

The music helped me keep going: Metallica (2), The Dandy Warhols, Oasis, Queens of the Stone Age, AC/DC and Maximo Park all helping me keep the pace up.  I’ve still room for some more tunes on my ipod so recommendations gratefully received.

0 Responses to “this time it wasn’t laziness”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

This month’s ramblings

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

