29
Sep
09

Rain Man

Tonight saw me beginning week 6 of the couch to 5k program, it also saw me running in the rain for the first time.  Sunshine is overrated anyway.  The running was fairly simple or so I thought but after checking the site it appears I made a boo-boo and ran too far (go me!), warm up then:

  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 58 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 3/4 mile (or 85 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 512 minutes)

I meant to run for 12 minutes at the end, I thought it was an 8-5-8 split and not a 5-8-5 one, I feel so foolish.  Just shy of 4 miles in 40 minutes, not too shabby.  Tonight was quite an enjoyable run, I felt I could keep pace quite well and wasn’t breathing out of my arse after 2 minutes.  It was also a somewhat frustrating run, do you think there is a world record for the number of wheelie bins sworn at in a 30 minute period?  If not, dig up Norris McWhirter and tell him I set one tonight.  Stupid bins.  Norris had a twin you know, his brother Ross clearly got the better name but also got assassinated by the Provisional Irish Republican Army.  True story fact fans.

As well as being annoyed by bins, I had some other thoughts tonight, in no particular order they were:

  • Splashing in puddles is still fun even as a grown adult
  • Slivery spits that dribble onto your chin are still embarrassing even if nobody sees you do it
  • Rain jackets are good at keeping the rain out, and equally good at keeping the sweat in
  • People on bikes who coast past you without holding the handbars deserve to fall headfirst into a bin, plenty wheelie bins around
  • Running in the countryside without a big, stupid dog by your side is quite scary exciting
  • I shouldn’t know all the words to My Sharona

Music wise things had a very 90s Britpop feel to it, EMF, KLF, Blur and The Bluetones playing, along with My Sharona (I’m sad enough to know the words but not the band……..honest) and lastly Daft Punk.

On returning home for my shower, I strangely discovered some leafs in the bath.  It’s funny how when you become a parent you just accept these things and move them to one side without questioning why they are there in the first place!  A well earned rest day tomorrow but tune in later for more words on a screen that you can read.  I’m gonna go take a celebration piss.

0 Responses to “Rain Man”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

