22
Sep
09

They say that music is the soundtrack of our lives

well some people do anyway, I thought it was a common phrase but Google returned only 581 results for the phrase.  Now I’m wondering who they are.  This particular soundtrack should be label what in the hell have I done?!  Today, with the help of a couple of mates, I put together a running play list for my iPod shuffle.  Tonight I ran and the soundtrack was, well, interesting to say the least.  It started off well with AC/DC’s Back in Black, The Cooper Temple Clause, CSS, The Shins, The Stone Roses and The Delays all made an appearance.  So did Girls Aloud…..don’t you dare judge me!  When those girls mention the fact they are love machines and sing about their negligees it makes me run that little bit faster!

So, onto the run.  Today I started week 5 of the couch to 5k program which meant I had to do this:

  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

Being the naturally fit and highly toned athlete I am I managed another 5 minute run on the end of that and after mapping my run over at mapmyrun.com I worked out I ran/jogged 3.15 miles in a little under 40 minutes.  Usain Bolt wont be losing any sleep over the times (mainly because he runs the 100 metres but that’s just a detail) I ran but for me I was happy.  If I could get away with eating chicken nuggets for breakfast like Mr Bolt then I’d be even happier!   I then decided to see how that sort of pace would convert into marathon distance, here comes the maths.  So 26.2/3.15=8.3, but lets round it down to 8 for the sake of simplicity.  8×40 minutes = 320 minutes/60 minutes = 5.3333333333333 hours.  So if I kept that pace up I’d be finished the marathon in around 5 1/2 hours.  Given that I have only been running for about 10 days total that figure isn’t as horrendous as I thought but as I’ve said once, and I’ll say many times I still have a long way to go.  If I’ve made any mistakes in the maths there and I’d really end up running the marathon in about 12 hours, please feel free to keep that information to yourself.

Until next time, ta-ta.

0 Responses to “They say that music is the soundtrack of our lives”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

