15
Sep
09

and so it begins…

Tonight I went out for my first official marathon training run.  I’ve decided to start off using the Couch to 5K training schedule to kick things off.  Being the naturally fit (!) chap that I am, I decided to jump in at week 4.  It went pretty well but even I have to admit I looked like a bit of a tool tonight, dog lead in one hand (with a dog attached) and a wee bit of paper in another.  The reason?  Well week 4 goes as follow:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

Effective, maybe.  Easy to remember, definitely not!  Anyhoo I succeeded in this run, I will try and get out again on Friday and Sunday to complete the week’s training and then we move up, funnily enough, to week 5 of the schedule.

The new trainers felt comfortable, but I only did a couple of miles so we’ll see how they hold up after 26.2 miles.

Wish me luck, I’ll need it.

0 Responses to “and so it begins…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

